Call now to find out how: 1-586-303-0040 franchise consultants      
Affordable Excellence

FRANCHISE SERVICES

FRANCHISE RESOURCE CENTER



Franchise Registration States

The following States require pre-sale registration, approval and/or fees prior to selling of a franchise in the state or from the state. Fees are subject to change.

CALIFORNIA
Department of Corporations
$675 Initial/Expired Registration
$450 Renewal
$50 Amended/Modified Registration

HAWAII
Franchise & Securities Division
State Department of Commerce
$250 Initial/Expired Registration
$250 Renewal/Amended Registration

ILLINOIS
Franchise Division
Office of Attorney General
$500 Initial/Expired Registration
$100 Renewal/Amended Registration

INDIANA
Franchise Division Secretary of State
$500 Initial/Expired Registration
$250 Renewal
(Single Unit within 24 Months Exception)

MARYLAND
Franchise Office Division of Securities
$500 Initial/Expired Registration
$250 Renewal
$100 Amended Registration

MINNESOTA
Department of Commerce Franchise Division
$400 Initial/Expired Registration
$200 Renewal
$100 Amended Registration

NEW YORK
Franchise & Securities Division
State Department of Law
$750 Initial/Expired Registration
$150 Amended Registration
(Single Unit Exception)

NORTH DAKOTA
State Securities Commissioner, Franchise Examiner
$250 Initial/Expired Registration
$100 Renewal
$50 Amended Registration

RHODE ISLAND
Division of Securities, Franchise Office
$600 Initial/Expired Registration
$300 Renewal
$120 Amended Registration

SOUTH DAKOTA
Division of Securities, Franchise Administration
$250 Initial/Expired Registration
$150 Renewal

VIRGINIA
Franchise Office State
Corporation Commission
$500 Initial/Expired Registration
$250 Renewal
$100 Amended Registration

WASHINGTON
Department of Financial Institutions, Securities Division
$600 Initial/Expired Registration
$100 Annual Report
$100 Amended Registration

Document Disclosure On File States

WISCONSIN
Franchise Office Wisconsin
Securities Commission
$400 Initial/Expired Registration
$400 Renewal
$200 Amended Registration

Franchise Filing States

The following States require franchisors to file and pay a fee, but do not require the franchisor to submit documents to obtain an approval to sell within the State. (*SPECIAL NOTE: States where filing exempt if Trademark is Federally registered):

CONNECTICUT*
Department of Banking
Securities Division
$400 Franchise Filing Fee
$100 Renewal

MAINE*
Banking Bureau
Securities Division
$25 Franchise Filing Fee
$10 Renewal

MICHIGAN
Department of the Attorney General
Consumer Protection Division
Franchise Unit
$250 Registration
$250 Renewal

NORTH CAROLINA*
North Carolina Department
of the Secretary of State
$250 Franchise Filing Fee
$250 Renewal

SOUTH CAROLINA*
Secretary of State's Office
Business Opportunities Division
$100 Franchise Filing Fee
$100 Renewal

Franchise Exemption States

Of the non-registration states, five states require franchisors to complete an “Exemption Filing” prior to commencing franchise sales in their state. This filing is required under each state’s business opportunity laws and exempts the franchise offering from being subjected to the "Sale of Business Opportunity" restrictions that exist in that state. Exemption States include:

FLORIDA
Department of Agriculture
and Consumer Services
$100 Annual Registration

KENTUCKY
Office of the Attorney General
Office of Consumer Protection
$0 (one-time filing of FDD)

NEBRASKA
Nebraska Bureau
of Securities
$100 One-time Registration

TEXAS
Secretary of State
$25 Registration
$0 Renewal

UTAH
State of Utah
$100 Registration
$100 Renewal

Non-Registration States

NON-Registration States do not require filing or registration to sell Franchises in the State. Those States only require that the Franchisor follow all Federal Trade Commission (FTC) Guidelines. The most important of those FTC guidelines is related to the verifiable transfer of a fully compliant Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) at least 14 days in advance of accepting any type of commitment (LOI included) or money from a potential franchisee.   See FRANCHISE DISCLOSURE RULE

ALABAMA
ALASKA
ARIZONA
ARKANSAS
COLORADO
DELAWARE
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
GEORGIA
IDAHO
IOWA
KANSAS
LOUISIANA
MASSACHUSETTS
MISSISSIPPI
MISSOURI
MONTANA
NEVADA
NEW HAMPSHIRE
NEW JERSEY
NEW MEXICO
OHIO
OKLAHOMA
PENNSYLVANIA
TENNESSEE
VERMONT
WEST VIRGINIA
WYOMING






FRANCHISEE RECRUITING
FRANCHISE MATCHING
FRANCHISEE FUNDING
FRANCHISOR CONSULTING
EB5 VISA PROGRAM
FEATURED FRANCHISES
CONTACT US


For additional general

franchise information

click on the following

Resource Center link.
Links   |   News  |   Site Map ©Copyright 2011 Franchise Sales Force. All rights reserved. View our Terms and Privacy Policy. Resource Center